Messi wins FIFA Ballon d’Or

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi has become the inaugural winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or after pipping club mates Andres Iniesta and Xavi to the prestigious award.
Messi who was named as the Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year last year won the combined award for his exploits with Barcelona in 2010.
The Argentine scored 58 goals in 54 games in all and led Barcelona to a record points haul in La Liga en route to their second successive Primera Division title.
He beat stiff competition from his club mates Andres Iniesta, who scored the decisive goal in the World Cup final, and Xavi Hernandez, who was influential for both Spain and Barca throughout the year.
Messi scored five hat-tricks last year and also became Barcelona’s leading goalscorer in European competition. Welcome Bonus Offer Betway

Related matches